Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: episode guide

Series 1 | Series 2 | Series 3 | Movie

Miss Fisher & The Crypt of Tears

Feature film
March 23, 2020 (Acorn - USA)
Screenplay by Deborah Cox
Directed by Tony Tilse
Produced by Fiona Eagger
Executive Produced by Fiona Eagger and Deb Cox
Co-produced by Lucy Maclaren

Essie Davis returns in the eponymous lead role as the glamorous private detective, The Hon. Phryne Fisher, whose exploits in 1920s Melbourne, Australia, lead her to murder, mystery and mayhem from London to British Palestine.

The film opens with the Honourable Miss Phryne Fisher rescuing Shirin Abbas, a young Bedouin woman, who has been thrown into jail in British Mandated Palestine, for making trouble at a time of colonial unrest. After a perilous escape from Jerusalem, she rejoins Shirin as a fellow guest in the home of Lord and Lady Lofthouse, for the London 'season' and she pledges to help her right a wrong and discover the truth about the Crypt of Tears — an ancient crypt rumoured to lie somewhere beneath the rolling sands of the Negev Desert.


  • Essie Davis as Phryne Fisher
  • Nathan Page as DI Jack Robinson
  • Rupert Penry-Jones as Jonathon Lofthouse
  • Miriam Margolyes as Aunt Prudence
  • Daniel Lapaine as Lord "Lofty" Lofthouse
  • Jacqueline McKenzie as Lady Eleanor Lofthouse
  • Izabella Yena as Shirin Abbas
  • Kal Naga as Sheikh Kahlil Abbas
  • Nicole Chamoun as Shirin's Mother
  • John Waters as Professor Linnaeus
  • John Stanton as Crippins
  • Ian Bliss as Sir Vincent 'Monty' Montague
  • William Zappa as Assist. Commissioner Forsythe
  • Hugo Johnstone-Burt as Constable Hugh Collins
  • Ashleigh Cummings as Miss Dorothy 'Dot' Collins
  • Travis McMahon as Bert
  • Anthony Sharpe as Cec
  • Mehdi Lamrini as Abdul
  • Holly Austin as Mrs Templeton
  • Lee Mason as Wilson
  • Salma Kamal as Young Shirin
  • Mansour Badri as Prison Guard
  • Brice Bexter as Templeton
  • Thomas Filer as British Captain
  • Glenn Van Oosterom as Uniformed Constable
  • Soussi Mohamed as Street Vendor
  • Peter Fourber as British Police Captain
  • Abdelghani Bouigna as Policeman
  • Tristian Sime as Photographer
  • Hugh Jennings as Awkward Young Man
  • Joshua Lin Hodge as Frank
  • Timna De Silva as Alexander's Dead Lover
  • Tina Sethi as Phryne Picture Double
  • Carla McLeish as Phryne Stunt Double
  • Laura Vower as Phryne Stunt Double
  • Zoe Wilson as Shirin Stunt Double
  • Robert Shook as Crippins Stunt Double
  • Monika Simmon as Phryne Fencing Double