APRA-AGSC Screen Music Awards

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008

Awards were held on Monday, November 3rd at City Recital Hall in Sydney.

International Achievement Award

  • Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone

Most Performed Screen Composer - Australia

  • Les Gock
  • Jay Stewart
  • Neil Sutherland
  • Dinesh Wickremeratne

Most Performed Screen Composer - Overseas

  • Alastair Ford
  • Guy Gross
  • Chris Pettifer
  • Neil Sutherland

Feature Film Score of the Year

  • Children of the Silk Road (David Hirschfelder)
  • Rogue (Francois Tetaz)
  • The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (Nick Cave and Warren Ellis)
  • Unfinished Sky (Antony Partos)

Best Music for a Documentary

  • Halal Mate — Episode 1 — Afifas Match (Michael Den Elzen
  • Last Trimate (Caitlin Yeo
  • Night (Cezary Skubiszewski)
  • Secrets of the Forbidden City (Brett Aplin)

Best Music for a Short Film

  • Noir Drive (Geoffrey Russell)
  • Shot Open (Rachel Gaudry)
  • The Funk (Paul Gillett)
  • The Ground Beneath (Jonathan Nix and Miles Nicholas)

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

  • City Homicide — Episode 14 (Richard Pleasance)
  • Summer Heights High — Episode 8 (Jason Catherine, Chris Lilley and Bryony Marks)
  • Underbelly — Episode 5 (Burkhard Dallwitz)
  • Who Do You Think You Are? — Episode 2 (Ash Gibson Greig)

Best Music for an Advertisement

  • Australian Rugby Union — Men of Gold (Mark Rivett and Haydn Walker)
  • Herringbone — Hands (Elliott Wheeler)
  • LMFF — Loreal Melbourne Fashion Festival — 2008 (Robert Burke and Benjamin Grayson)
  • SBS Station ID — Six Billion Stories & Counting (Roger Mason and Bryony Marks)

Best Soundtrack Album

  • East of Everything (Greg Walker)
  • Rogue (Francois Tetaz)
  • The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (Nick Cave and Warren Ellis)
  • The Black Balloon (Michael Yezerski)

Best Music for Children's Television

  • Animalia: "Butterfly Winter" (Christopher Elves)
  • Dogstar — Episode 24 (Yuri Worontschak)
  • Gumnutz! A Juicy Tale (Clive Harrison)
  • Pirate Islands the Lost Treasure of Fiji (Art Phillips)

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

  • East West 101 — Episode 1 (Guy Gross)
  • Emerald Falls (Richard Pleasance)
  • Indonesia a Reporter's Journey — Episode 1 'A difficult engagement' (Scott Saunders)

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

  • Free Falling 2 — Night (Cezary Skubiszewski, Jan Skubiszewski, Andy Baldwin, Clairanne Brown and Jules Pascoe)
  • It's a Jungle Out There — Underbelly (Burkhard Dallwitz
  • The Greatest Act in History — The Black Balloon (Michael Yezerski)
  • When We Get There — The Black Balloon (Josh Pyke and Michael Yezerski)

Best Television Theme

  • Elders (David Chapman)
  • Underbelly (Burkhard Dallwitz)
  • Summer Heights High (Chris Lilley)
  • The Gruen Transfer (David Chapman)