The New Legends of Monkey: episode guide

Series 1 | Series 2

1.01 | 1.02 | 1.03 | 1.04 | 1.05 | 1.06 | 1.07 | 1.08 | 1.09 | 1.10

Hope Must Never Die

Episode 1.01
Sun, January 28, 2018 (6pm, ABC Me)
Written by Jacquelin Perske
Directed by Gerald Johnstone

A young girl uncovers a statue of the legendary Monkey King, but in order to release this ancient God from his stone prison she must first find his golden crown, a crown that has fallen into the hands of Demons.

Whilst waitressing in a tavern in Palawa, the girl sees in a man's cup the reflection of the very same Font Demon that stole the crown, killed her mentor and destroyed her home. Then she notices the stolen crown in his bag. It is the Font Demon in disguise. She waits until the man starts dozing, then she chooses her moment and swipes the crown. The man realizes the crown is missing and transforms into the Font Demon, pursuing the girl.

She heads into the forest towards the Monkey King's statue. Just as she reaches the statue, grappling to put the golden crown on its head, she is yanked back by the demonic power of the Font Demon. But she has succeeded. The Monkey King has been released. He appears, and parries with the Font Demon, eventually overpowering him.

Note: in Australia, the ABC debuted episodes 1-3 as a single 90min telemovie

Cast (in order of appearance):

  • Chai Hansen as Monkey
  • Luciane Buchanan as Tripitaka
  • Aaron Jackson as Bron
  • Tian Tan as Patre
  • Jayden Daniels as Gaxin
  • Daniel Sing as Scholar
  • Jarred Blakiston as Font Demon
  • Stephen Ure as Mercenary
  • Rachel House as Monica
  • Min Kim as Young Monk
  • Phil Brown as Man Font Demon
  • Leand Macadaan as Musician
  • Josh Thomson as Pigsy
  • Cameron Rhodes as Head Monk
  • Matt Bowden as Innocent Civilian